The Nano Membrane Toilet

Treating human waste onsite without external energy or water.

Meet the team

Below you will find a list of people who make a contribution to the Cranfield toilet project.


Prof Sean Tyrrel is the overall Project Manager.

s.tyrrel@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Alison Parker is responsible for collaborations and communications, as well as leading the work on user perspectives. All general enquiries should be addressed to her.

a.parker@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Ewan McAdam leads the development of the dewatering components of the toilet.

e.mcadam@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Ying Jiang leads the integration of the back end components.

y.jiang@cranfield.ac.uk

Prof Paul Jeffrey is a Project Coordinator.

p.j.jeffrey@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Leon Williams leads on the toilet design.

l.williams@cranfield.ac.uk

Matt Collins will be working on the prototype.

m.s.collins@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Anju Toolaram is working on the field testing.

anju.p.Toolaram@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Tosin Onabanjo will be developing a micro-combustor.

t.o.onabanjo@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Richard Adams is working on the business model.

Dr Mariale Moreno is working on the business model.

m.moreno@cranfield.ac.uk

Aude Commenges is working on the macerator.

Farhad Kamranvand is working on the membrane component.

Dr Kristin Ravndal is working on the testing of the toilet.

Kristin.T.Ravndal@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Jerry Luo leads on thermoelectric recovery.

z.luo@cranfield.ac.uk

Jan Hennigs is working on the testing of the toilet.

Jan.Hennigs@cranfield.ac.uk
Connor Hart

Connor Hart is working on testing the screw.

C.A.Hart@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Bhavin Engineer is working on the mechanical and production design of the ‘front-end’.

Bhavin.Engineer@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Pedro Talaia is working on the control of the interactions between the different components.

P.Talaia@cranfield.ac.uk

Dr Chris Davey is working on separating water from contaminated urine.

C.J.Davey@cranfield.ac.uk